Lamborghini Huracan LP610-4

So today is exotic cars review. First the Lamborghini Huracan LP610-4

Since I was a kid I’ve loved Lambos, I started liking them more than Ferraris, but then I grew up.

Lamborghini is an amazing brand, it has some of the most desirable cars ever made through their history and they will always be aspirational, simple as that.

I love the tendency to create earth moving aircrafts or something like that, even from the 70’s Countach the relationship between Lamborghini design and airplanes was close, the Concorde was designed back then and from then that relation has been increasing, and I don’t think this is a bad idea, but I guess I prefer cars to be cars and planes to be planes.

Design is too much for my taste, it is well executed and awesome to look at, but I wouldn’t say beautiful, that word is for a different kind of thing, it’s like Angelina Jolie and Scarlett Johansson, one is extremely attractive but the latter is prettier, to me, more beautiful, but then again “beauty is in the eyes of the beholder”.

Anyway, back to the Huracan, as a replacement for the Gallardo (about time!), it will be a 2014 model in most markets, it features a mid-mounted 5.2-liter V-10 driving all four wheels with 601 horses and 413 lb-ft of torque, a dual-clutch transmission, construction is lighter due to the extensive use of carbon fiber and aluminum which will make if for a good 0-100 km/h (0-62 mph) in 3.2 seconds and more than 320 km/h top speed (202 mph).

It will share a lot of its components with the next gen Audi R8 as usual being both owned by VW, and we can expect a lot, and I mean, a lot, of future trims and special versions such as with the Gallardo, including Superleggera versions and RWD ones. I’m sure this will be a huge seller for Lambo. Weren’t we all in the world in recession? Mmmh.

I like it, I think it is a proper exotic, it well deserves the Lamborghini badge and I’m sure most car reviewers (wish I was one) will agree that it will be more civilized, easier to use, more practical (if you can use that word on a Lambo) and appealing to a broader market, but at the same time, that it is loosing that Lamborghini rawness and that “I’m trying to kill you” performance found in earlier Lambos.

Finally, if I had the money, I wouldn’t buy one, but that’s because Lambos are too much “attention whores” for me, I prefer simpler beauty, I prefer the Ferrari.

huracan 1 huracan 2 lamborghini-huracan-designboom10

Leave a Reply

